[4/20] You Don't Need A Calling

As a generalist or a multipotentialite, you're not wired the same way.

Hello and welcome to the 150+ new generalists who joined us!

I’m Elhadj, an entrepreneur/indie hacker and a generalist. I want to help you find your purpose by sharing practical and actionable content. Being a generalist can be overwhelming, but by connecting the dots, you can gain perspective, productivity, and opportunities.

I hope you learn something useful from every issue. Your feedback is welcome and valuable!

If you’re not subscribed yet, you can do it below!

For now, let's get on with today's program :

  • You Don’t Need A Calling

  • Generalist' Digest

  • Relevant Content I Like

Let's get to it!

P.S: This is part of a series of 20 articles on being a generalist. We'll explore the means and tools to figure out our own path as a generalist. Each entry will focus on a specific topic, so if you have any preference just hit reply!

You Don’t Need A Calling:

‘‘But you NEED to choose something to focus on!’’

I think all of us have heard this in one form or another.

It’s simply how things are in our world, what we’ve grown accustomed to.

And if you’re a generalist like yours truly, this one worldview kinda clashes severely with your own nature and way of seeing things. Because you like to explore things constantly, have a finger in every pie. That’s the only way you thrive.

But many people are trapped by the myth of the one true calling.

This myth says that we have to pick one thing to do for life and do it fast. This myth also says that we have to be experts in one field and stick to one identity.

But what if this myth is BS?

Even worse, what if it’s stopping us from finding our true potential and creativity? It may even be the cause of that nagging feeling of unfulfilledness.

Another common wisdom that we’ve all heard as well: you HAVE to finish what you start.

Well, what if finishing means something different to someone else? Being done for generalists may not necessarily mean seeing things to their very end. In fact, given how we’re pursuing thousands of interesting at any given point, it’s not feasible.

But there’s another way.

Let me know what you thought!

Or if you're short on time: YT Short

Generalist' Digest:

📜 Study: I’m a big proponent of being selective when it comes to the content we consume. More doesn’t mean better. It’s actually a matter of mental health and wellbeing.

🧠 Thinking: A bit of AI positivism by Andreessen Horowitz himself. I agree that the doomism around AI is a bit exaggerated, but this article is filled with approximations, handwaves, and blatant disregard for historical facts and trends that also lend themselves to criticism too. But since it’s a dissonant voice in the current landscape, I still recommend having a read.

🌟Interesting: As a generalist, I struggle with time management. And I have a sort of phobia of strict frameworks, techniques, and templates. That’s why I’m really happy to have come across this great time management technique, it’s pretty flexible and ‘vague’ enough to be adapted to multiple situations.

Content I Like :

Sometimes I'd recommend a cool piece of content/content creator!

I’m not a designer and I don’t want to agonize over design. I want something that allows me to dish out cool-looking stuff and focus on the content.

If you’re like me, you’ll LOVE Gamma. It takes care of the formatting and allows you to focus on what you know best. And now that it’s been augmented with AI, it takes literally 5 seconds to get a pretty decent presentation draft.

If you sign up through this link, we both get AI credits :)

That's a wrap!

Thanks for being a valued member of the Thinkbox!

For more and for any inquiries, you can find me on Twitter and LinkedIn.[

Join the conversation

or to participate.